Command line and python questions via /r/learnprogramming


Command line and python questions

Hello all, I've recently been learning python. I've been getting more exposure to the command line and damn am I confused. I'm on windows 10. Let me explain:

  • Installed anaconda. This basically installs python with pre-loaded libraries that are useful for data science, right?
  • I see the anaconda prompt as well as my own CMD. They seem to be working the same, so what's the difference?
  • I've been introduced to python environments. As far as I can tell they are so you can use different versions of libraries or python? I see these environments are stored in my anaconda directory.
  • What is conda? And what is the difference between virtualenv and conda?
  • I figured out how to activate and deactivate environments. But how does this actually apply to my coding? When I want to run a program with a certain environment, I should have it activated first?
  • It seems if I don't activate any sort of environment and just work from CMD everything still works. I added Anaconda to my PATH, so is that why its working as if I'm using the default anaconda environment?

I wish these things were more clear cut. If there is some resource that makes the command line and how the operating system works clearer, I'd be interested. Thanks!

Submitted July 09, 2017 at 03:24PM by djsnipy
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u0XhNr

Leave a Reply

