Web Scraping Problem (python) via /r/learnprogramming


Web Scraping Problem (python)

Hi all–

I'm trying to get stats from hockey-reference.com. I could just go through the tables and get the data like that, but there's a feature on hockey-reference that lets you get the data in a csv format. The only problem I'm finding is that in order to get that data, you have to click a button on the site, and only then does it pop up. I'm not seeing it when I just get do a urllib request and look through it with beautiful soup. I really want to just get the csv it has already formatted because it's a lot more elegant than the alternative.

Here's the page I'm talking about. You go to "Share & More" and then click "Get table as CSV."

Submitted July 09, 2017 at 03:31PM by gkamer8
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u6PA9l

Leave a Reply

