Best Practices for a Web App Notification System? via /r/learnprogramming


Best Practices for a Web App Notification System?

I'm building a simple app that will have a few events where notifications of one sort or another will be very useful. The tutorials I'm finding seem to all be for push notifications, which I don't want. I'm wondering about notifications for events which happen when the user is logged out. My thinking is I'd need a system for sending emails if desired, a system for alerting the user live if they happen to be logged in, and one for storing these events until they're cleared by the user. I'm using MongoDB and am tempted to store these events in the user model, but that feels messy. Is there a preferred way to handle these types of notifications, or am I misunderstanding how they generally work?

Submitted July 10, 2017 at 03:26PM by gocharmanda
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u1walS

Leave a Reply

