Pondering about Bash as a discipline/Bash and careers via /r/learnprogramming


Pondering about Bash as a discipline/Bash and careers

So I have come to find out Bash is not only a skill/language for Linux power users, but that it is actually a discipline of sorts. What I'm not too sure of is is it possible to get a job with just/primarily expert Bash knowledge? Maybe Bash+SQL+Python?I know very little of it but what I do know I really like and I have immense admiration for the history of Linux (and by extension Unix) so a career focusing on Bash seems enticing.

There's a myriad of resources for "regular" programming languages (Treehouse, Udemy, Hackerrank etc.) but I'm not sure I've really come across any Bash resources aside from beginner stuff at Udemy. This leads me to the meat of my concerns, which is that I'm not sure the "salaries" reported being because of Bash exist simply because senior developers pick it up along the way OR if there are people who actually train and learn Bash as a discipline.

I hope this isn't a tired question.

Submitted July 10, 2017 at 05:51AM by gnuforlyfe
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uHVLOd

Leave a Reply

