[Tutorial] Learn To Create Minecraft using C++ and OpenGL! via /r/learnprogramming


[Tutorial] Learn To Create Minecraft using C++ and OpenGL!

Hello Reddit!

I have an ongoing series where I show how you might create a Minecraft-like game using C++ and OpenGL from the ground up.

The series is mostly based on my own creation, seen from these videos here

Many people were asking for a tutorial on how I did it, so I thought "Why not?", and started to create one! πŸ™‚


The series assumes you know modern C++, but assumes 0 knowledge with OpenGL. In fact, the first 18 episodes I create the framework the game is based around, while teaching the necessary OpenGL needed for future episodes. However, if you do have questions about some of the C++, I am always open to questions.

My tutorials are very inspired by "ThinMatrix", that is rather than jumping right into the code and blabbing on for 10 minutes while you stare at blank screen before I actually start doing stuff, I explain in detail what will be happening in the video using visual aids and sometimes simple animations.


The introduction episode outlines what will be created, the main assumptions, and the libraries I will using and why I use them.

The next two episodes show how to set up the libraries using my preferred IDE (Code::Blocks), however of course you can follow along using any development environment you want to πŸ™‚


Here is what I have so far:

So far, I have ~27 videos in the play-list. The last 5 or so episodes I have begun to implement the "Minecraft side" of things, and so I feel it is a perfect time to follow along and catch up! πŸ˜€


If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments. Alternatively, I also have a Discord server, where people are always happy to help with issues, and I am frequently active there and able to answer any questions: http://ift.tt/2sKYCEQ

Anyway, thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy the series if you choose to follow along!

Submitted July 11, 2017 at 07:22AM by Mat2012H
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u3CaKO

Leave a Reply

