Any advice on how to teach programming to elementary school kids only on Chromebooks? via /r/learnprogramming


Any advice on how to teach programming to elementary school kids only on Chromebooks?

So I have been asked to put together a programming class for grades 3rd – 8th for beginners to learn about programming. I was excited because they do have a computer lab – but apparently only two of the computers really work and they are all over 5 years old (and as many of you know they were already dated when they got them because schools never get the cool toys)

So all I have to work with are chromebooks with which while I know how to use one I have no clue how to do any programming teaching using a chrome book. I had initially thought of teaching them how to make a simple game but I don't know what I could do with a chrome book.

Language doesn't matter as long as it's something that will be useful later in life. As for myself I am going to be looking into grants to try and upgrade their lab but not holding my breath (even if they work wouldn't be for this school year anyhow)

Thanks in advance

Submitted July 14, 2017 at 03:50PM by Sorrybuttotallywrong
via reddit http://ift.tt/2tbQeSI

Leave a Reply

