Writing an auto-bidder for an auction site via /r/learnprogramming


Writing an auto-bidder for an auction site

I want to write a program that takes data from my favorite auction site (not eBay) and submits bids for me.

Basically, it should do the same thing as if I were to open Chrome, navigate to the URL, view page source, extract some numbers with regexp, then submit bids for me based on some calculations.

I hear the best way to do this is through C#, but before I get started on it, I want to make sure that it won't be immediately possible for the website to tell that it is a program requesting and submitting data instead of a human using a browser. (They have a rule against that, and I don't want to get banned. I don't think what I'm doing is unethical, they just don't have an autobid function, and I don't have internet access at work.) I don't mean fooling a captcha or anything like that; that would be too involved. I just mean, like, when the server receives the request, it doesn't come with a tag saying "requested by a robot." Is this possible?

Submitted July 13, 2017 at 10:04PM by samhand
via reddit http://ift.tt/2ul0N5g

Leave a Reply

