Looking for a new scripting language to learn via /r/learnprogramming


Looking for a new scripting language to learn

I use Python professionally. Got a hobby project I want to play with, so I reckon I may as well take the opportunity to learn a new language. Having trouble finding a good one.

  • I'm somewhat opposed to Ruby and Pearl, because I find their way of using $ prefixes and such silly.

  • I guess there's JS. Is that something that's meant for fiddling with desktop stuff, though? I'm sure there are ways of hacking it to work, but I'd rather have a tool idiomatic for my task.

  • In particular, I plan to use it to get pixel data from my screen, control my mouse and keyboard, etc., so I'd like something with a developed enough library that I don't have to go through hell to call the Windows API or whatever.

  • I'd prefer something that can teach me something new over something that's practical for the industry

  • And I plan to use it in real-time, so something with a built-in REPL. Basically, I want something that's Python, but a different language.

Any suggestions?

Submitted July 15, 2017 at 12:08PM by G01denW01f11
via reddit http://ift.tt/2vovhAV

Leave a Reply

