Learning programming when the only problems you want to solve are very complicated via /r/learnprogramming


Learning programming when the only problems you want to solve are very complicated

From everything I read, to learn to program you first want to have a simple issue you want to solve, something that can be done in an afternoon, or a few days. In order to stay motivated to solve it.

My problem is, that the things I want to program are (at least to me) seem very complicated, Definitely something much more complicated than creating a simple mod for Minecraft.

I'm someone who kind of learns by doing, and if I don't immediately do something with the knowledge that I gain, I lose it.

Is it wise to try to learn to program to solve a complex problem, or should I look for simpler problems I can solve to ease my self into it before attempting to tackle something more difficult?

If I can't, should I just give up on learning to program?

Submitted July 16, 2017 at 11:20AM by TheGamingOnion
via reddit http://ift.tt/2vqVZc2

Leave a Reply

