Picked up Black Hat Python, but I’m a little overwhelmed via /r/learnprogramming


Picked up Black Hat Python, but I’m a little overwhelmed

Okay, so to preface this, I am not the most experienced programmer, and am looking to broaden my knowledge base and achieve a strong foundation in the areas of computer science I'm interested in. I was talking with a friend, who is far more adept at programming than I am, about how to learn more about networking and how I can incorporate my knowledge of coding. I'm fairly adept myself at Python, as it was my first language, but I lack any ideas on what kind of projects I can do (creativity isn't my strong suit). However, I've been really interested in networking, so my friend recommended I pick up a copy of Black Hat Python by Justin Seitz. I was apprehensive, only because I was afraid I would be delving into a book which exceeded my skill level in networking, but he reassured me that I would be fine with the book. Now that I've begun reading it and skimming through some of the exercises, I've found my original apprehension was well-founded, as many of the terms that are being used (TCP/UDP Client, Wireshark, etc) are completely flying over my head. What other resources can I use to bring myself up to speed with the basics so that I may resume Black Hat Python? Am I in over my head, or do I just need to go and do some internet searches when a term or concept isn't well explained? I'm extremely appreciative of any criticism and/or suggestions that you more experienced individuals could pass onto me!

Submitted July 15, 2017 at 11:26PM by eetchechoury
via reddit http://ift.tt/2v5ikg4

Leave a Reply

