Should I stay for too long on the same problems? via /r/learnprogramming


Should I stay for too long on the same problems?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the sub so excuse me if this isn't the best place / way to ask.

I'm currently in Uni and I've had some introductory classes on Python mostly. My field isn't programming, but physics, but I've always wanted to learn a bit more programming and I'm trying to on my own.

I'm currently following along a series of python challenges. The ones I've encountered so far look pretty basic, but every time I look at implementations from different people there's always a bunch of people using completely different methods from mine or using very specific libraries which I probably wouldn't find on my own. How do I figure out which method is best for the task at hand? Is it a matter of code efficiency, or presentation, or what?

I'll run into a basic looking exercise I'm perfectly able to solve with a couple of ifs and elses, but after submitting I'll see someone else using some obscure library I've never heard of. Should I keep moving along the exercises until I reach one that I can't actually solve with the methods I know, or should I devote a lot of time to study the various methods of solving each problem, even apparently simples ones? In the end, how do I determine what method is better?

I realize my questions could lead to very subjective answers, but this has been bugging me a lot lately. As soon as classes start again I'll have little time available for programming on the side, so I want to make the most of my free time. Thank you in advance.

Submitted July 16, 2017 at 10:07AM by FantaBuoy
via reddit http://ift.tt/2v6M5x0

Leave a Reply

