Confused begginer has few questions via /r/learnprogramming


Confused begginer has few questions

By confused begginer I mean someone whose most advanced code in C was a + b = c. I'm accepted to software engineering school, I'm 20 and I have no idea about anything. My friend is great at coding so I can ask him some questions from time to time, but he's really busy.

I'll be learning C and Shell. I should also learn how to use Linux and I would really like to learn it on my own. I've been googling for few days now but there is so much information out there it leaves me really desperate.

I've got Ubuntu in my laptop (I'm a windows user).

What exactly is the difference between UNIX and Linux? Is Shell just Linux command line? Is it worth to buy and read books or am I ok with watching videos and googling?

I feel like I had more questions but I honestly don't even know what to ask yet. Sorry for being so confused, really, feel free to correct me and sorry if this is the wrong subreddit to post, I wanted to give it a shot!

Also if you've got any tips, I'd gladly welcome them! Thank you thank you thank youuuuu.

Submitted July 17, 2017 at 07:22AM by Andysaurus_Rexx
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uuTjwM

Leave a Reply

