Is it too learn for me to have a career in programming? via /r/learnprogramming


Is it too learn for me to have a career in programming?

Hey guys. I'm a rising senior economics major at Northwestern. I currently have an internship doing equity research at an asset management company. I'm also minoring in transportation and logistics.

I realized that I don't really like what I'm doing now. I've always had a logical mind, and if I spend a lot of time learning a skill I've found myself able to master it decently well.

Is it too late for me to learn programming and get a job in this field? I would be fine with something in logistics (like transportation optimization) or some sort of finance related programming job too.

I started learning python a little bit, and I can only do a couple things like guessing games and fibonacci but I really like it so far. Do you think it would be worth drastically changing my career path, or is it too late at this point.

I can take a couple computer science classes my senior year (I've never taken any before). If I took an extra year of school, I could probably graduate with a minor in it. Do you guys think it would be worth doing that?

Thanks a lot for any help/advice you can offer me. Also is python the right way to go about doing this right now? And what are some good resources for learning it, I've just been using practicepython.com

Submitted July 17, 2017 at 06:13PM by FizzTheWiz
via reddit http://ift.tt/2t9yL9v

Leave a Reply

