Is this a bad portfolio idea? via /r/learnprogramming


Is this a bad portfolio idea?

I'm currently learning a bit of front end and backend web development, more specifically using the http://ift.tt/2iA44W9 full stack course to help guide my learning

My buddy owns an auto-detailing carwash in the city over from mine, and asked if I could help him out with a website. I thought it would be really cool to build him a quick little site from scratch, using what I've learned both in the backend and frontend to bring it all together.

He ideally wants a one page landing page where the header includes a quick "get a free quote" form that sends a text to his phone when someone submits their info so he can text them directly, as well as the ability to push out content for SEO purposes.

I could definitely set him up on WordPress, but I wanted to test out the extent of my ability by making this into a portfolio project.

My question is that, obviously WordPress would be more intuitive and easier to train him on…but it wouldn't be the greatest portfolio piece. Should I try to code the thing from scratch to include in my portfolio? Or should I set him up on WordPress to avoid future problems?

Main things to note:

  • Buddy is a close friend of mine
  • I'm doing the site for free, since he knows I'm relatively new to custom web dev
  • I'm thinking about using Rails …as for an integration with Twilio, is there a better language/framework to use?
  • Worst case scenario, if he doesn't like the site, it's not gonna end our friendship, lol. He's open to letting me try this to put in my portfolio, I'm just trying to figure out if my eyes are bigger than my stomach.

Main question – would a project like this impress anybody? If I build something that could easily be hacked up in wordpress?

Submitted July 17, 2017 at 05:00PM by offthemargin
via reddit http://ift.tt/2t9HyIG

Leave a Reply

