Getting into programming via /r/learnprogramming


Getting into programming

Hi, I'm a longtime Sysadmin that has dabbled in python, php, shell, etc. I am looking to make the career change over to maybe web development. Or something with programming. In my area, there only seems to be jobs in .NET and Java – both of which don't seem particularly interesting to me. Which is not to say I won't go into them – I find Java to be a lot of boiler plate and Python I don't feel like is a particularly stable platform. I'm also primarily a Mac user so .NET may not be a good fit?

What other types of "development" work can I look at? How can I get my foot in the door with entry level development jobs when I am already older (37) and most shops are hiring fresh off the boat college students for those positions?

I like data manipulation, data presentation, which is what drew me to web development. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place. I'm not particularly interested in front-end development and graphical things. I do also like backend programming to an extent but much like front-end development it's driven by whatever language/framework is the flavor of the day. I want to start somewhere that takes me through a stable language with good possibilities for jobs and maybe hobby stuff (I'm interested in game development someday).

Sorry if this doesn't make a whole lot of sense – I am hoping someone here knows what I'm experiencing and maybe can give me some advice.

Submitted July 18, 2017 at 04:04AM by sol33t
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u4FYur

Leave a Reply

