SQL old school join *= to New LEFT JOIN also posted in r/learnsql via /r/learnprogramming


SQL old school join *= to New LEFT JOIN also posted in r/learnsql

So I'm going through the 2012 wrox Beginning Developer book. but I'm using SQL 2016 as well as management studio. I'm trying to upload the chaper 4db code but got some issues with compatibility of old ways to do it in SQL. I got message saying I could set it to compatibility to 80 and it will run. But I'd like to know how to set it up. The issue is old school way of right and left join = , = respectively mine is a left join. So how do I update this bit of code to run.

SELECT sso.SpecialOfferID, Description, DiscountPct, ProductID FROM Sales.SpecialOffer AS sso, Sales.SpecialOfferProduct AS ssop WHERE sso.SpecialOfferID *= ssop.SpecialOfferID AND sso.SpecialOfferID != 1 

Submitted July 18, 2017 at 01:07AM by dude_42
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uxDLZ5

Leave a Reply

